Bat Shawl Errata

It’s that time of year again!  Halloween is coming up, and when better to make a Bat Shawl?

105a

Sadly, there are errors in the published pattern.  The triangular “body” of the shawl is correct, but there is a problem with the border.  Here are the corrections, in bold:

Row 7 should have 341 sts not 355.

Row 9: K1, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k1, work row 9 of Chart C 10 times, k2, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, pass marker, k1, pass marker, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k1, work row 9 of Chart D 10 times, k2, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, k1.

Rows 11 and 13 stay the same

Row 15: K1, yo, k1, yo, k4, k2tog, yo, work row 15 of Chart C 10 times, k1, yo, ssk, k5, yo, k1, yo, pass marker, k1, pass marker, yo, k1, yo, k4, k2tog, yo, work row 15 of Chart D 10 times, k1, yo, ssk, k4, yo, k1, yo, k1.

Row 17: See revised chart.

Rows 19-25 stay the same

Row 27: K1, yo, k8, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, k4, work row 27 of Chart C 10 times, k2, k2tog, k10, yo, pass marker, yo, k10, ssk, k1, work row 27 of Chart D 10 times, k5, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k8, yo, k1.

Row 29: K1, yo, k9, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, k5, work row 29 of Chart C 10 times, k1, k2tog, k11, yo, pass marker, yo, k11, ssk, k2, work row 29 of Chart D 10 times, k4, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k9, yo, k1.

Here are the revised charts:

Chart C:
Chart C REVISED

Chart D:
Chart D REVISED

I’m sorry for the problems, and I hope it works out now!

096

10 thoughts on “Bat Shawl Errata

  1. on row 15 of the border:

    work row 15 of Chart C 10 times, k1, yo, ssk, k5, yo, k1, yo, pass marker, k1, pass marker, yo,

    should that be a k4 instead of a k5?

  2. Emilee,

    I’m glad you posted these. As I said in my e-mail to you, I managed to figure it out and get ‘er done but it is a great pattern and I’m glad the errata are posted now!

    Your photo of the shawl also helped to show what the edging is supposed to look like!

  3. I had just finished the body of the shawl, then picked up and completed the first two rows of the border. I kept thinking, you’ll only have 341 at the end of 7, not 355. I haven’t been knitting long, so I was thinking, oh this will be an adventure for me to figure this out. I am SOOO glad this is posted with the corrections. Thanks, thanks, thanks!! This is my first big knitting projects, so I am excited to see it completed, correctly!

  4. Oh thank you so much for posting the changes. I was driving myself crazy wondering how you would get 355 stitiches at the end of row 7. I must have taken out my work eight to ten times trying to make it work. LOL Thanks so much!

  5. Do we remove one of our markers between row 23 and row 25? I’m reading ahead after coming to some other issues and have noticed that rows 25,27 and 29 only mention passing 1 marker.

Leave a Reply

