How to Induce Labor

At the end of one’s pregnancy, one hears all sorts of stories about how to induce labor. Eat Chinese or Mexican food, I was told. Take a long walk. Engage in other activities I won’t discuss on the blog. Well, I am here to add another story to this long tradition.

Finish the baby’s blanket.

On December 13 at about 10:30 pm I finally finished her baby blanket. My water broke at 2:00 am on December 14. Here I am at about 4:00 am, as we are heading to the hospital.

december 2012 007

Vivi was born just after 8:00 pm on December 14, two days before my due date and less than 22 hours after the blanket was finished.

She’s the best Christmas present ever.

2012-12-16_16-08-12_172

PS: Since this is a knitting blog, I’ll mention that the blanket is a classic feather-and-fan in 10 colors of Berocco Comfort DK, on #8s.

12 responses to “How to Induce Labor

  1. She is precious! Congratulations.

  2. Congratulations!!! She’s beautiful. :-)
    I tried the blanket trick — didn’t work for me! ;-) Then I knit another little sweater. That didn’t work either.

  3. Congratulations on both of your finished objects – they’re beautiful!

  4. Congratulations on the beautiful baby and blanket!

  5. ohhhhhh! Congratulations! She is beautiful and looks just so sweet under that blanket. (I am beyond impressed that you paused for the before photo). Wishing you a peaceful and joyous new year together!

  6. What a beautiful baby! Congratulations!!!

  7. Aw, what a beautiful baby! Congrats on Vivi. The blanket’s gorgeous, too, but can’t hold a candle to a precious new little one.

  8. Congratulations! She looks right at home under that blanket … what a lovely way to finish a project!

  9. Congratulations! She looks so precious.

  10. Congratulations! She is so sweet!

  11. Congratulations – what a sweetie!

  12. Oh, that´s so cute! <3

Leave a Reply

