More UFOs

I went home to Connecticut this weekend, where I uncovered still more UFOs.

This is my first and only sock, knit from the pattern that came with the yarn. I knit it while studying abroad in Australia. I brought sock yarn because I wanted something portable, but it was an environmental science program, so we were always camping. When it was light out there were other things to do, and I was normally too dirty to want to knit anyway. I abandoned this project thinking “umm… why knit socks?” But, as nelltje of the knittyboard pointed out, they’re a really good way to experiment without investing a ton of yarn and time into a sweater. I’ll finish these to recover my sock needles, and then try jaywalkers, with this.

I also found the Zora sweater from the Best of Lopi. I was literally inches from completion when I realized that spring (2005) was coming, and I wouldn’t have a chance to wear it before it was too warm. It shouldn’t take too long to finish.

This is Tempting 2. This is an incredibly boring knit. I started it right before my wedding because I needed something mindless, but I’m not sure if I can ever subject myself to that much k1, p1.


In the meantime, I’ve made progress on Rosedale U,

and Clapotis.

As I was slogging through Clapotis, I realized that I have so many UFOs because the patterns I pick are so boring. I mean, really, I’ve been knitting seriously for four years. My skills are just not progressing. I need to challenge myself, I need to experiment. I brought back my Lopi odds and ends so I can play around a little bit.


As soon as July is over, I turn over a new leaf. Each new project practices a new technique!

3 thoughts on “More UFOs

  1. Yep, I think that is a great idea. I think I may have to do that too. Although I have only been knitting (aside from LEARNING to knit when I was little) for about a year, I pick ‘safe’ projects generally. I will be thinking of you when you challenge yourself! Let us know how it goes. I have a blogger account but don’t use it….find me at nattychick.typepad.com (if you want to of course!)

  2. Yep, I think that is a great idea. I think I may have to do that too. Although I have only been knitting (aside from LEARNING to knit when I was little) for about a year, I pick ‘safe’ projects generally. I will be thinking of you when you challenge yourself! Let us know how it goes. I have a blogger account but don’t use it….find me at nattychick.typepad.com (if you want to of course!)

Leave a Reply

