Six Weird Things

I saw this on MLE’s blog and decided to join in. Be gentle with me, this is my first meme.

Six weird things about me:

1. I am (basically) named after a man. My mother’s middle name is Emilee, and it was given to her because her grandfather was named Emile. Emile was born in Quebec in 1886, and I think that it is neat that my name was inspired by his. It is a little thread of connection between two members of the same family with VERY different lives. I took French in high school to honor our French-Canadian heritage.

2. I have never had Chicken Pox. When I was in 3rd grade an outbreak went though my class, but I didn’t get sick. I have no idea how many times I was exposed to infected kids, but it should have stuck. When I was a teenager they invented the vaccine, so I got it. I hope I don’t get Chicken Pox now!

3. The only even moderately serious disease I’ve had (knock wood) is Lyme Disease. I got it in 1986 or thereabouts, less than 20 miles from the town for which it is named. I was a little kid at the time, and the illness was not yet well-known AT ALL, so I am really lucky that it was caught and treated early. My mother has a master’s degree in Public Health, so she had a sense of what was going on and got me the right care.

4. Since I was very young when I had Lyme Disease, I couldn’t take pills for it. They gave me absolutely vile purple medicine instead. It was so horrible that to this day I have a very strong aversion to artificial grape flavoring in skittles, grape soda, etc. I still like grapes and wine, because those are natural. I like the color purple, and I wear the color purple, but I do not eat the color purple. Ever! After that I swallowed candies and frozen peas whole to prove that I could handle pills if I needed more medicine.

5. The most famous person to grow up in my home town is Noah Webster, the person who wrote the first American English dictionary. Some of my paternal grandmother’s cousins are really interested in genealogy, and we are apparently descended directly from one of his sibling. That means that over the course of 200+ years, my ancestors left Connecticut and worked there way west to Chicago, only to have my dad leave Chicago and randomly settle in the same town again.

6. I have a knack for trivia, but specifically geography. I won my school’s Geography Bee in 5th, 7th, and 8th grade.

Speaking of weird…


This picture was taken at approximately 3:15 pm on January 7, 2007 in Cambridge, MA, 42°22’ North Latitude. It is absolutely not supposed to be in the 60s in January. This is sort of scary, and I am relieved that it is getting chilly again.

One thought on “Six Weird Things

Leave a Reply

