Serrano Progress – Part Three

IMG_2152a

Serrano is coming along nicely. 

IMG_2147a

I’ve done a bit more since the picture was taken, but here we have three completed repeats of the lace pattern, or six tiers of eyelets. In the various photos that I’ve seen, it seems that most people start decreasing for the neckline after nine tiers. I should be there next weekend. I’m really surprised at how quickly this is going, given that it uses sock yarn.

I’m also surprised at how little yarn this is using. I just joined my second ball, so we’re looking at less than five ounces, or approximately 500 yards so far. That’s doesn’t seem like very much at all to me.

IMG_2160a

I also have what can only be called a preposterous amount of this yarn. It hurts my brain to think of it in terms of yards, so let me just admit that it’s about a pound and a half. Good thing I like the color. Where did I get it, you ask? I bought it in two or three separate mill end batches from my eBay CTH pusher.  It must be Loden, if it’s consistent between batches, but I can’t be sure because I’ve never seen official CTH in Loden.

WHY did I buy a pound and a half of this, you ask?  Because I’m a packrat, I’m obsessed with yarn, and it was on sale.  That’s why.

10 thoughts on “Serrano Progress – Part Three

  1. I totally understand your need to buy a pound and a half of yarn – it’s pretty and if it was on sale? How could you pass it up! Serrano looks like it’s going to be a very nice garment!

  2. I agree with knittingtroll, how could you pass it up?!? And beautiful, beautiful pictures of Serrano.

    Thanks for your comment at my site. 🙂

  3. It’s looking really great, I wish I had a pound and a half of yarn (not that I know how much that is being a metric girl and all, but it looks like alot!) lying around to make Serrano.

    This makes me want to make it even more. Must buy more yarn!

  4. At least you don’t have to worry about running out of yarn! That is the worst.

    The color is very pretty and I like the lacy pattern!

  5. The Serrano is looking great!
    (I can completly understand the need to buy all of the yarn…I bought over a pound of alpaca roving last fall! Still have to spin it up and figure out what to do with it!)

  6. …”Because I’m obsessed with yarn and it was on sale. That’s why.”…made me laugh outloud. I’m just learning to cable myself, so this is great inspiration. It’s so lovely and your stitches are so even.

Leave a Reply

