What Next?

It’s official. I only have one more week at my job in Boston. We’ve been insanely busy on one huge case for months and months, which actually makes the whole thing bittersweet. I’m excited to move on (and not be at the office until 2am), but I’ve been so wrapped in this whole thing that I’m a teensy bit bummed that I won’t be around the finish it out.

I am extremely excited about the three weeks I’ll have to do basically nothing before I start law school. The trip was wonderful, but it wasn’t relaxing. I can’t wait to just sit on the dock with some knitting for a few days and clear my mind. The question is, what should I work on?

I became reacquainted with my stash during the move, so I know of at least five (eek!) sweaters worth of yarn that I could start working on. Here they are, in no particular order:

IMG_0288 (2)

Debbie Bliss Merino Chunky, Teal: I bought two bags of this when it was on sale at Webs three years ago. One of my friends had made Simply Marilyn, so I was thinking of doing that. But then I realized how different our body types are, and how maybe if Simply Marily looked good on her it wouldn’t look good on me. I have to be really careful with chunky yarn anyway, because “chunky” is one of the looks that I want to avoid, thanks. Whatever I do with this it will have pretty agressive shaping so it’s at least somewhat flattering.

IMG_0284 (2)

Debbie Bliss Merino DK, Aubergine: This yarn is a very sophisticated dark purple-brown. I’m not sure what I want to do with it, exactly, but I have plenty. The color is so dark that a lot of textures might not show up, so I’ll have to play around with it quite a bit before I decide.

img_0289 (2)

Jo Sharp Merino DK, Dark Red: This is what I used for Glasgow Lace. In fact, I chose Glasgow Lace because I only thought I had one bag of it. I actually have two. This color is perfect for my mom, so I was thinking I’d use it to make her something for Christmas or her birthday. She hates being hot, so it would either be a lacey cardigan or a vest so she doesn’t overheat.

IMG_0283 (2)

Filatura de Crosa 501, Magenta: I love this color, I’m just not sure this color loves me. I keep going back and forth about whether or not it’s too bright. If I can’t swing this color, my sister can, so it might be for her.

IMG_2220a

Noro Kureyon, #150: THESE are my colors! I am a blue-green-gray kind of gal. I love these colors. Once again, I’ve had this yarn for awhile, I just need to decide what to do with it. I have a Rosedale U already and I don’t wear it all that much, so I want to do something other than a plain striped raglan. But what?

So.  That’s a lot of yarn.  Where should I start?

5 thoughts on “What Next?

  1. I JUST finished an entrelac scarf with 4 balls of that kureyon in the SAME COLOR!!!!! It’s on my blog, but I think you could do the same pattern – just narrower with 3 balls. I’m working on my 4th entrelac kureyon scarf too – I obviously like the pattern!!! lol

Leave a Reply

