Clapotis!

I have finally finished my very own Clapotis. 

Clapotis a

I love it. I used Lorna’s Laces Lion and Lamb in Tahoe. The colors are wonderful – blue, teal, and purple. I used about 3.5 skeins, and alternated between two skeins every other row. I think that added to the richness of the coloring of the finished item and gave it a more even look. For instance, the very light blue patches only appeared in one of the skeins, so I’m glad they stretched thorough the middle portion of the item rather than being confined to only 1/4 of it.

I made it a bit longer than called for, mostly out of habit. I’m taller than most so I routinely lengthen items.

Clapotis Stretched

I realize that my outfit doesn’t really go with it, but it was in the 80s today, cut me some slack 😉

It looks rather thin in the above photo, but it’s wide enough to cover a good part of my back when wrapped around.

Clapotis from behind

The wonderful thing about this pattern is the way it changes shape. It is great as a shawl, but it also works as a scarf.

Clapotis Scarf

This is my third Clapotis. I made one about a year ago for my friend Elizabeth and one as a Christmas present for my mother-in-law. I can’t imagine that I’ll ever make another, as great a pattern as it is. Three is plenty.

This project was a long time in the making.  I bought this yarn more than a year ago and I finished the increase sections by the middle of January.  The straight section killed me. It was so boring.  I only worked on it when I was too tired to work on anything more complicated, so I didn’t make much progress.  The last few weeks of my job were really intense though, so I indulged in several days of zombie knitting to clear my head in preparation for law school. 

Clap Close

I love the way it turned out. I’m sure I’ll use it a lot.

20 thoughts on “Clapotis!

  1. Love the rich, vibrant colors. I’m considering knitting one for a friend, but like you said it can be a bit tedious and the last thing I need is another wip…

  2. It’s BEAUTIFUL, Emilee! I love it. I’ve also made two, and have the yarn to make one for myself. I’ll love the finished product, but I’m kind of dreading the process. I’m feeling inspired now!

  3. Ooooh, that is so gorgeous! I made a mini version a while back that’s nice, but nothing spectacular – seeing yours makes me really want a full-size version for myself! (Except for the slog factor, but that’s beside the point.)

  4. It’s lovely! All three Clapotis you’ve made look beautiful, but I really like the colorway you chose this time round.

  5. I’m working on a Clapotis too!

    Tell me, did you block yours? The dropped stitches on mine don’t look very nice, and I was wondering if it’s because of the yarn I used or because it needs to be blocked.

    Beautiful scarf, you’re a very prolific knitter!

Leave a Reply

