Serrano Update #6 – It fits!

I finished the body of Serrano and blocked it.  I used my new blocking wires for the first time – they really came in handy making clean edges for the bottom and sides.

IMG_2826

You can see from the picture below that I omitted waist shaping.

IMG_2817

I was on the fence about this for awhile, but I think I’ll be glad I did it this way. I have broad shoulders, so I have a problem with button-up things gapping at the bust. As a result, I almost never wear cardigans fully buttoned. The side seams are very often behind where they should be so waist shaping on the side “seams” might look strange. I decided to go with an unbroken lace pattern so it will look good open or closed.

Elin’s recent post about her Serrano inspired me to join the shoulders and try it on.

IMG_2849

It looks a little strange when worn as a vest, but it fits!

9 thoughts on “Serrano Update #6 – It fits!

  1. Oh, it looks great! I love the colour!
    I hate gaping buttonbands too, but I don’t get that with Serrano because of the hook & eye closure. As long as you sew it down properly, it’s much better.

  2. It’s beautiful! Now I’m trying to remember what yarn you’re using. It’s so shiny and pretty, and I can’t wait to start my Serrano. That’s my reward for myself once I’ve finished my WIPs and taken the LSAT.

  3. Hmmm… Be good to my clever integration Sorry, for off top, i wanna tell one joke) What do you call a dog with no legs? It doesn’t matter what you call him he ain’t gonna come.

Leave a Reply

