I (heart) my den

We are officially done fixing up the condo! Last week we repainted the kitchen. Here is an oh-so-flattering picture that my husband took of me standing on the kitchen counter, covering the school bus yellow with nice yellow (Benjamin Moore Hawthorn Yellow).

me painting

The den was the last room that we did because it presented such a challenge.  It was a gawdawful shade of orange originally, and now it’s a nice taupe/gray. I’m thrilled with the way it turned out.

IMG_2851

IMG_2846

IMG_2845

IMG_2844

We used Benjamin Moore paint in “Silver Fox.”  I’m really pleased with the way it looks with the black built-in and with the brick wall.  The rest of the condo is very Victorian, so I love the more modern den.  I especially love the botanical print curtains – they’re from Ikea. 

Law school starts in a couple of days.  I am so glad that this is all finished!

13 thoughts on “I (heart) my den

  1. I heart your painting too! Great job & great colors – it looks terrific!

    And good luck with law school – that’s very exciting. We’ll need a full report please when you’re not studying 🙂

  2. I love your curtains! I need to swing by Ikea and see what they’ve got going on.

    Will you come over and paint our place? Every room is brown or green, and it desperately needs a paint job!

  3. That’s so pretty! Very elegant and understated.

    Good luck with law school! It’s my turn next year, so I expect frequent reports on what’s fun, what isn’t, and how to stay happy! : )

  4. I love that taupe colour. Our house will be full of neutrals like that by the times we’ve finished. Starting on the walls next week actually, a year later!!!

    I love your serrano too, I have recently done a mini shawl in that pattern, its great.

  5. Wow! It looks awesome, you did a great job. I hate to paint, so I admire your patience. Good luck with law school.

Leave a Reply

