Back to School

125

Today is my second day of law school. It’s going well so far. I’m a little bit overwhelmed, but it’ll be ok.

I had a bunch of reading to do before classes even started so I haven’t done a ton of knitting lately, but I’ve been chipping away on the sleeves for Serrano.

128

I’m still loving this stitch pattern, even after all this time. I am eager to be done with this sweater though – I want to be able to wear it a few times before it gets too cold.

Β In the pattern pictures, the split cuff is a pretty obvious detail, and I’ve decided to keep it.Β  I didn’t like how floppy the sleeves look though, particularly in the second picture (where she’s adjusting her hair).Β  I decided to make the split portion of the sleeves only about half as long as it’s supposed to be.

129

The cuffs will still be a bit floppy, which was the final factor in my decision to make the sleeves 3/4 length. I think the higher up the cuffs are the less likely it is that the flopiness with bother me.

10 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. eek! My bf is in his 2nd wk of law school and those heavy books sure look familiar! I’m glad you’ve found time to knit! While his time in law school has been brief, he has said the 2nd wk is better than the 1st wk (less jitters, more comfortable, etc) so you have something to look fwd to. πŸ™‚

  2. The Serrano is quite lovely and the color is absolutely beautiful πŸ™‚ Good luck with classes! That overwhelmed feeling eventually subsides. Or perhaps you just get used to it. I’m not quite sure. Happy Knitting!

  3. Congrats on law school–what a start! I’m sure you’ll do great.

    …oh, and that’s a good colorway for Serrano–something with that kind of lace pattern really needs a softer tone to bring it out, I’d say.

  4. Good luck with law school. It’s probably a safe bet that your knitting will slow down! I can tell you that it does get easier, and before you know it those three years will be gone, and you’ll be practicing, and voila! more time to knit again! Be sure to take care of yourself (eat well, rest when you can), and you’ll get through it.

  5. Congratulations on law school! I can imagine that it is overwhelming, but you will feel more confident over time!

    Your Serrano looks amazing – I love the color.

  6. Good luck! That’ll be me next year, so I’m watching your progress with great interest!

    Serrano looks great. I’m really looking forward to seeing the finished piece, even without sleeves, it fit you perfectly and looked amazing.

  7. Congratulations on beginning law school! My husband and I just got our bar results on Friday and we passed on the first try. Hooray! The first year is a killer, but it gets much better after that. Although, I’ll have to admit I got the vapors at the sight of a Torts textbook. πŸ™‚

    Just ran across your blog via the Knitty site. Great hat! I plan to make several for Christmas gifts. Knitting will come in handy while you’re in school, when you need a moment of zen to combat the stress.

    Good luck!

    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

