Knitting Experience Questionnaire

Thank you all so much for the good vibes. It’s a little scary, and I’m very grateful to have the support.

Since starting law school I’ve been knitting more than when I was pulling 15 hour days at work, but less than when I was pulling 8 hour days. I’ve made some progress on the Serrano sleeves, but I’m sure you’re not interested in row-by-row updates. Instead, I decided to do the questionnaire that I saw on Robin’s blog.

I’ve done it
I want to do it
No interest

• Afghan
• I-cord
• Garter stitch
Knitting with metal wire
• Shawl
• Stockinette stitch
• Socks: top-down
• Socks: toe-up
• Knitting with camel yarn
• Mittens: Cuff-up
• Mittens: Tip-down
• Hat (too many to count)
• Knitting with silk
• Moebius band knitting
Participating in a KAL (Hmmm… I know I’ve started some, but I can’t think of any that I’ve finished)
• Sweater (Yes, very much so)
• Drop stitch patterns
• Knitting with recycled/secondhand yarn (if recycled Sari Silk counts)
• Slip stitch patterns
Knitting with banana fiber yarn
• Domino knitting
• Twisted stitch patterns

• Knitting with bamboo yarn (wool-bamboo blend)
• Two end knitting (???)
• Charity knitting
• Knitting with soy yarn
• Cardigan
• Toy/doll clothing
• Knitting with circular needles (I do a lot in the round, and knit literally everything on my Options)
• Baby items
• Knitting with your own handspun (no interest in ever learning to spin)
• Slippers
• Graffiti knitting (???)
• Continental knitting
• Designing knitted garments (you’ll hear more about this soon enough)
• Cable stitch patterns
• Lace patterns
• Publishing a knitting book (it’s not that I’m not interested, it’s that it has virtually no chance of ever happening)
• Scarf
• Teaching a child to knit
• American/English knitting (almost every day)
• Knitting to make money (no, that’s why I’m in law school 😉 )
• Buttonholes
• Knitting with alpaca
• Fair Isle knitting
• Norwegian knitting

• Dying with plant colors
• Knitting items for a wedding (as a wedding GIFT)
• Household items
• Knitting socks (or other small tubular items) on two circulars (I prefer ML)
• Olympic knitting
• Knitting with someone else’s handspun yarn
• Knitting with dpns
• Holiday-related knitting
• Teaching a male how to knit
• Bobbles (I’m usually not a fan, but I love Demi)
• Knitting for a living
• Knitting with cotton
• Knitting smocking
• Dying yarn (once, it wasn’t pretty)
• Steeks (Eunny’s Deep V Argyle Vest is on deck)
• Knitting art
• Fulling/felting
• Knitting with wool (virtually all the time)
• Textured knitting
• Kitchener BO
• Purses/bags
• Knitting with beads
• Swatching
• Long Tail CO
• Entrelac
• Knitting and purling backwards
• Machine knitting
• Knitting with self patterning/self striping/variegating yarn
• Stuffed toys
• Knitting with cashmere
• Darning
• Jewelry
• Knitting with synthetic yarn
• Writing a pattern
• Gloves
• Intarsia
• Knitting with linen (I have some CotLin in the stash)
• Knitting for preemies
• Tubular CO
• Freeform knitting
• Short rows
• Cuffs/fingerless mitts/armwarmers
• Pillows
• Knitting a pattern from an online knitting magazine (tons and tons)
• Rug
• Knitting on a loom
• Thrummed knitting
• Knitting a gift
• Knitting for pets
• Shrug/bolero/poncho
• Knitting with dog/cat hair (Ick, on purpose?!)
• Hair accessories
• Knitting in public

5 thoughts on “Knitting Experience Questionnaire

  1. Those are some good skills you got there! This was fun to read through and see all the things that I still want to try – it’s neverending 🙂

  2. I didn’t even know what a few of these were! Some knitter I was, who’d believe I’d been knitting for years and years?

    I do believe graffiti knitting is what the Knitta Crew do. Coats on trees and the like :).

  3. Pingback: Reflection « Bottle and Ball

Leave a Reply

