Serrano – Home Stretch

I am almost done with Serrano.  I finished knitting the sleeves on Wednesday, which was definitely sort of bittersweet.  I love this lace pattern, and it’s really fun to knit!  I’ll have to find something else to do with it. 

I was pretty concerned about all the seaming, but it’s going ok so far.

IMG_2968a

This seam isn’t perfect but it’s not embarassing or anything.

 I’m pretty excited about  a little trick I figured out to save me some seaming.  The pattern intructs you to stop working on the side bands when it’s time to do the neck shaping.  Then you’re supposed to work the band until it’s long enough to go all the way around, then sew it in place.  I was concerned about how it would look if I sewed it on, so I decided to knit it on instead. 

I picked up stitches starting where the band had left off on the right front, knit the stitches that were on hold on the back neck, then picked up stitches going down the left front. 

IMG_2960a

When I got down to where the stitches were on hold for the left band, I knit those too (except for the one that was supposed to be slipped). Then I purled back across, purling the last band stitch together with the neighboring stitch that I had picked up.

IMG_2970a

Every wrong side row I’ve been purling the last stitch together with the next picked up stitch.  Then I slip that stitch on the right side because it looks tidier that way.  I think it’s working really well, and I’m excited to finally show you the finished sweater soon!

13 thoughts on “Serrano – Home Stretch

  1. Your knitting is so beautiful, emilee. I can’t really visualize all of the tricks and turns of this part of the finishing process, but that’s okay. I’m looking forward to the photos of the finished piece, too! The lace pattern is gorgeous and so is the quality of your knitting. Congrats!

  2. Beautiful pattern.

    And your knitting is SOOOOOOOOOO neat. Amazing. And your seams are definitely nothing to be embarassed about.

    Can’t wait to see the finished sweater!

  3. Your serrano looks great – beautiful color and pattern. I found your blog from Knitty – I for one love your hats and can’t wait to give them a try. I’m addicted to hats so it is fun to have a new pattern. First though I have to finish a few things on the needles . . . . Also wanted to write in support of you attending law school. I’m an attorney (out of law school 19 years now – gasp!) and wish you all the best. It’s a challenging but wonderful experience. Just too bad you can’t knit in class! Really – I know you could still pay attention but those profs just won’t understand!

  4. Congratulations on making Knitty! What an amazing accomplishment! Can’t wait to see Serrano finished. And I hope law school is going well. My husband went and I know how overwhelming it can get sometimes. Knitting is a good antidote.

  5. The green serrano is looking really scrummy! I’m going to check your archives to see what yarn it is.
    Can’t wait to see it finished!

  6. Pingback: Brought to you by the color green « Emilee Knits
  7. Pingback: Serrano… finally « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

