Foliage FAQ

foliageBEAUTY

I’m absolutely thrilled that so many people have decided to make Foliage! From the emails I’ve gotten, it seems like there are a few things that could be clearer, so I’ve set up this FAQ. If there are any other questions that come up a lot I’ll update it.

What do the blank boxes represent?

It depends on what you mean by blank boxes.  If there is a blank box, it is a knit stitch.  If there is no box at all, it means that there is no stitch there.  I set up the chart so that if one stitch is above another in real life, it is above that stitch in the chart.  Most of the stitches are added at the edge of the chart, which is why it’s a triangle.  Since extra stitches are added on rows 9 and 15 there are blank areas on the chart before those stitches are added.  If you find it confusing check out the written directions.

Do I need a whole skein?  What if they yarn I want to use comes in smaller skeins?

Nah, I didn’t use the whole skein for either version.  I would estimate about 2/3 of the skein, but sadly I do not have a scale sensitive enough to tell me for sure.  Can anyone else out there lend us some more specific information?

The stitch count is wrong on row X.

I’m pretty sure that all of the stitch counts are right (thanks Mandy!) but this is the most common type of question.  The answer usually has to do with the missing boxes I mentioned above or the SK2P double-decrease.  SK2P stands for “slip one, knit two together, pass slipped stitch over” and it turns three stitches into one with this \ kind of slant.  Watch out for these on rounds 11, 13, 17 and 19, and in the main body of the hat.

Can I make the hat with 16 or 20 leaves per round rather than 8 or 12?

Yes!  I’ll post detailed directions at some point, but I need to talk to Amy about when/where I should do that.

I’m so psyched and flattered that you guys like the pattern.  Thanks for all the feedback!  I’m sorry I’ve been so delinquent in responding to comments, I promise I’ll get better now that the initial rush of questions has died down.

8 thoughts on “Foliage FAQ

  1. Cool — I think that much like Bonne Marie’s Sitcom Chic 2.0 you could just post the variation here. I have a 32″ version of Samus that I email to anyone who asks for a smaller size. Asking Amy’s always a good idea, though. No one would want to be the one in trouble with Knitty! 🙂

  2. I knit up the worsted weight version and had a little less than 100 yards left of the Malabrigo (according to a little math and my scale). BUT I also ended up using US8s because I couldn’t find my US7s anywhere, so my gauge was a little larger – I think you’d easily have 100 yards left after knitting it up, according to the directions.

    Also, awesome pattern – the hat knit up in two days, and I didn’t even mess up the lace!

  3. This hat was one of the most fun things I’ve knit recently! On Columbus Day I knit it up while I was off, using Kraemer Yarns Mauch Chunky. It was a 100 g/120 yd skein, and I was left with 48 g. I think that would mean I used barely over half or maybe 65 yards. I used US 10’s and 8’s to get the suggested guage. Thank you so much for the delightful pattern. I almost can’t wait for the cold to wear this new hat!! 🙂

  4. Hi, I followed the link here from my own blog. I love Foliage, I definitely want to make one or two myself. Congrats on getting a design in Knitty!

  5. This is great info and so nicely written. I haven’t started knitting my Foliage yet. I have the yarn, just need to buy the needles. I’ll have to add them to my list of things to buy at Rhinebeck!

  6. I’m in the middle of this hat now, its my first thing using yarn overs, and so far so good! Its really much easier than i thought it would be. The pattern is very clear! Thanks!

  7. Em…I’ve been scoping out your pattern on knitty.com and have had it in my mind for the last couple of days when…travelling on the subway I spotted a woman (taking the L train) in YOUR Foliage Hat in what I’m sure was the yellow Malabrigo chunky worsted! Thought you’d like to know…I’m about 100% sure – even though my husband thinks I’m nuts…BTW, I’m another Angela (not the 11/07 one) hence the 2.0

  8. Hi..I am also on ravelry as ljg456 (and just joined the KAL) . Had some basic questions about the foliage hat:
    Please tell : once into the leaf lace pattern does each row end up getting more stitches, or should a stitch marker between every 8 stitches (and the beginning of the row) STAY there every time?
    Mine shifted after several rows and I fear it’s a mistake, but I’m also unsure whether the rows actually DO get more stitches.
    Thanks, I’ve already ripped this out once and am fearful I’ve made a big mistake.

Leave a Reply

