Retro Redux

IMG_3097

Pattern: Retro Redux Shrug, by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark, Lace Style
Yarn: Cascade 220 #7811 Purple Jewel Heather

IMG_3101a

 My uncle got married yesterday (Congrats to Rob and Holly!)  Earlier this week it occured to me that I might be a bit chilly in the dress I had planned to wear, so I whipped this up in 3.5 days. It looks a little bit rumpled in the photos because they were taken after the wedding. There was no time before the wedding, I was weaving in the ends in the car on the way over.

This was a fast fun project. The lace pattern is very very easy and goes quickly once you have it down. I didn’t do quite as much ribbing as called for (ran out of time, heh). I liked the gauge I was getting on #9s, so instead of going up a size as instructed I added stitches over one arm and took them out over the other arm. I made the largest size, and used just under two skeins of Cascade 220, but I might have wanted a third if I had done all the ribbing. I would definitely recommend this pattern.

4 thoughts on “Retro Redux

  1. Hi! I came across your blog thru the foliage hat on Knitty. I really enjoy seeing your completed projects. They get me motivated to finish some of mine! I have the pattern printed out for Foliage, but I have yet to start. It is the cutest hat though, and your shrug looks great too!

    Have a great New Year, Kari Sherry

  2. That is really cute and I can just see the weaving in on the ride to to the wedding- funny.

    I wanted to tell you that I made the foilage hat for a daughter of a friend of mine who wanted a hat like one of the American Girl dolls. She loved it. Thank you so much for that pattern. It was my first attempt at a lace pattern!

Leave a Reply

