Fussy

Yes, I changed my format yet again.  I liked the blue theme fine, except for one little detail.

Fiddly

The fact that those corners didn’t match up drove me crazy. I thought it looked sloppy and unprofessional. Not that this blog is particularly “professional” anyway, but one of my goals for the year is to improve it and gain a greater presence.

I’ve been toying with moving to my own domain so I can customize and tweak to my heart’s content. I had been seriously considering it until recently, because I would like to start offering more patterns. Now that the Ravelry pattern download system is almost done it is much less of an issue. I’d like any insight that you folks might have on making the switch away from wordpress.com to your own domain, or on WordPress blogs away from wordpress.com generally. Ruth, Mel, you run WordPress blogs right?

6 thoughts on “Fussy

  1. Yes! I have my own domain and am happily self-hosted with ICDSoft who actually came on really high recommendation from Ruth when we were looking to switch services; we had many problems and poor response with our old one (Globat). My resident web expert Tad tells me that you can purchase your own domain and have it point to your wordpress.com blog without self-hosting, but we like self-hosting because of the ability to completely customize our sites.

    I hope this helps a little – holler if you have any questions (and I will ask Tad!) 😉

  2. Looks good, Em! I also am self-hosting via ICDSoft and using WordPress. I like the wide variety of themes and plugins that I can choose from and customize. I am good with computers and know nothing about CSS, and I didn’t find the set up process difficult.

  3. I’ve toyed with the idea of my own domain, I even posted about it in the Ravelry WordPress forum to get feedback from the people there. I did buy my the domains but haven’t moved my blog. I wanted to do it for the same reasons as you. But I’m not sure how much it matters with Ravelry etc. So basically I’m no help LOL

  4. I’ve got the rights to my own domain, but I’m still fumbling around on blogger. So while I don’t have any tips for you, I do wish you lots of luck, should you make the switch. And I hope you’ll share some of your experiences if you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

