Red Light Special – Take Two

I had long and bumpy road with my first attempt at Red Light Special.  Towards the end of that attempt I watched this video on stranded knitting with two hands, and it finally clicked.  I decided to make another Red Light Special using that technique, as practice towards my 2008 fair isle goals.

IMG_3156a

I think it turned out a lot better.

IMG_3163

I used Knit Picks ambrosia for the liner, and it is delightfully soft. I knit the whole liner with the yarn in my left hand so I could get used to the feeling, and I’m glad I did. I’m still getting used to it, but I know it will only get easier with practice.

IMG_3160a

My tension was a lot better this time, as this photo shows. I don’t like the color scheme as much as I did on the first one, because I think the blue and green are close enough that the pattern gets a bit lost. This is a useful lesson for further projects.

IMG_3186a

In general, I’m pretty happy with it.

14 thoughts on “Red Light Special – Take Two

  1. Well done, Emilee! It looks very soft and warm. I found the two-handed thing clicked for me after I forced myself to knit a whole scarf left-handed, so I know what you mean about how forcing yourself to knit the lining that way really improved your technique.

  2. Pingback: Look Ma, both hands! « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

