Socks

IMG_3298a

On the same day that I presented Ms. Redjeans I also gave my mom some socks that I’ve been working on here and there for a wicked long time.  Since these socks have taken so long, I decided to give them their own post. 

IMG_3184a

For the top portion of the sock, I used a cable rib pattern from Ann Budd’s Diagonal Cross-Rib Socks.  The yarn is a red and gray Cherry Tree Hill mill end that I got on ebay about a year ago. I bought it because my mom’s favorite color is red, and red and gray are the colors of the high school she teaches at.

I like these socks, I really do.  At least, I like the way they’ve turned out.  But I think I have to be honest with myself, and with you, dear readers.

I don’t really like knitting socks.

This is not a bombshell on the level of that time Grumperina said that she doesn’t like knitting sweaters.  But I share some of her concerns.  She asks “Somehow I feel like I’m not a ‘complete’ knitter unless I’m cranking out sweaters. Do you ever feel that?”  I know what she means.  I love sweaters of course, but I’m really not a fan of socks and I feel like a lesser knitter for that.  So many people crank out cute socks, and there are tons of great patterns.  Heck, I even posted a couple of sock patterns that I really like.  In general though, they’re not my cup of tea and I can’t even really explain why.  I hope you forgive me.  😉

17 thoughts on “Socks

  1. I know what you mean. I’ve made several pairs of socks, and they’re fine and all, but I don’t get really excited about them. I do like wearing them and giving them away, so I’m sure I’ll keep making them — but only now and then.

  2. it’s cool if socks ain’t your thang.

    i was really into a socks awhile back, but these days i mostly knit socks for others. the demand is rather high and i feel like i have this neverending list of people to knit socks for, so it’s become less fun for me.

  3. Sock knitting is great, but not nearly as much fun as knitting sweaters! I usually have to give myself deadlines to finish socks – in fact I’ve got a pair on the needles that I started over a week ago. I got the cuff done, and it’s been sitting here ever since. I think I’ll have to give myself another deadline to finish the pair!

    Love Cherry Tree Hill Sock Yarn, and those socks look great, BTW.

  4. Heavens! Of course it’s totally okay if you don’t want to knit socks. I find I kind of go in cycles – socks, lace shawls, baby sweaters, sweaters for me, etc. – whichever cycle I’m in, I’m less interested in the others. Then one day, it’ll just shift.

  5. I get into sock moods, and then don’t have the desire to knit socks for months and months. Right now I’m feeling pretty meh about socks, so I’m right with you on that!

    Hope you get some daffodils soon! : )

  6. Beautiful socks!

    I went through a phase where I didn’t like socks. Then, I started taking the train every day and discovered that socks were the only truly portable project that didn’t bore me. So now, I always have a pair going. And the fact that I really like Magic Loop now (also hated it at first) doesn’t hurt.

  7. I’m with you. I actually hate sock knittin with a fiery passion. Something about knitting on toothpicks for an eternity just to have something that will likely always be covered up by my pants just isn’t my bag. I think yours are darling, as is your Mr. Greenjeans.

  8. okay, I know this doesn’t have anything to do with knitting (but I love reading your blog!) but how do you get multiple pictures from your Flickr account into your post?

  9. I knit with other women who love socks, and somehow I felt incomplete that I was just cranking out sweaters and totally into cable knitting.

    Under peer pressure, I just finished my first sock. I’ll finish the other one, but I have to say, its just not as exciting as I thought it would be. So I sympathize with you!

  10. I ranted about six months ago about how I don’t like knitting socks and that I refuse to do any more. Not that I did very many, but it was enough to discover I’m just a sweater girl.

  11. Pingback: Week 11 - Rapunzel’s Braid « Emilee Knits
  12. Pingback: Happy Birthday Mom! | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

