Beginnings

Today, March 1, we awoke to yet more snow.  I can’t wait for spring to come.

I finished the design project that I’ve been alluding to, but I decided not to submit it yet.  It doesn’t really feel finished to me.  I want to make a variation on it and submit them both, like I did with Foliage.  I’m a teensy bit sick of the pattern, even though it’s my own, so I won’t start another quite yet.

I did start something new though.

Hemlock Beginning

This is the very beginning of the Hemlock Ring Blanket.  It is intended for a special someone whose birthday is in April, so I’ll have to be relatively monogamous on it. That’s fine with me though, a big purple flower is the perfect thing to work on while waiting for spring.

I’m relieved to hear that many of you don’t really like socks either.  Now I know that I’m not alone.  As much as I love sweaters, I won’t be working on those for awhile either.  I have declared a moratorium on all new clothes for myself, actually.  My weight has been creeping up steadily for several years.  That was fine when I was growing and I was a teenager, but it needs to stop.  A couple of days after my 25th birthday I had a record-breaking weigh-in that convinced me that I need to change my habits.  Since my goal is to establish a healthy lifestyle, not achieve a certain size, I’m not sure what size I’ll settle at.  I’m quite sure it won’t be this one, though.  So until I do settle somewhere, I’m not going to start any sweaters for myself.  Wish me luck.  It’s a new beginning.

12 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. Good luck, indeed!

    I’ve had that moment twice, each time about 2 years after the birth of a child. Each time I slowly and steadily got focused, lost over 40 pounds, and was happy with it – not a size or even a weight number (though it helped me to keep track, just to have a tangible sense of progress), just a point where I could look in the mirror and not cringe a little.

    Slow and steady wins the race… and be sure to have tiny little chocolate bars around because sometimes sanity is more important than a few extra calories. 😉

  2. Good luck!

    I like the purple flower look of the blanket. Perfect color, and you’re right, it’s a great thing to be working on while waiting for spring.

  3. Good luck – I did this about 4 years ago, lost almost 2 1/2 stone which I’d put on over the years but mostly during the pregnancy of my youngest. I feel so much better for it, although I still find the maintenance harder work than the actual losing.
    Love the purple flower!

  4. Good luck! Your hemlock is off to a wonderful start. I think you’ll really enjoy knitting it. I had great fun with mine. Still got to block it, though. Maybe today?

  5. Your hemlock is a lovely colour.
    Good luck with the healthy lifestyle goal. A bit of exercise and a few changes to the eating habits can make a big difference.

  6. It’s the perfect time of year to start with healthy habits. Once it gets warmer, we’ll all want to be walking outdoors enjoying the fresh air.

    Good luck on your design project!

  7. Good luck! I’ve had a similar experience recently – a record weigh-in coupled with a high cholesterol level – and have been working to make changes, too. It’s not easy, but it’s definitely worth it. 🙂

  8. You get my “You Make My Day” Award! I’m certain other people have already awarded this to you, but still, I really enjoy reading your blog and it does indeed make my day. Your writing sounds just like the little voice in my head…

    Keep making pretty things!
    Jessica

Leave a Reply

