Flashing the Stash

Whoa, hello out there!  Long time no see.  You didn’t think I forgot about you, did you?  Well, maybe I did, just a little.  Hemlock Ring is not a photogenic project, so I’ve been knitting away but not really photographing it.  I’m nearing the end on that though, so I’ll have updates soon. 

Anyway, without further ado, here is my stash.  It really falls into four main categories:

Plain yarn, enough for a sweater:
SweaterStash

From left to right, we have Debbie Bliss Merino Chunky in teal, Filatura Di Crosa 501 in Pink and Magenta, and Debbie Bliss Merino DK in Aubergine.  I also have Jo Sharp DK somewhere, the same amount and color that I used for Glasgow Lace.  I’m pretty sure I got all of this at Webs’s tent sales.  The teal is in use on Tailored Scallops, is basically in hibernation until next fall.  I used a little bit of the pink for Elijah.  The magenta is quite bright, so I need to find something simple to make with it.  I really love the color of the Debbie Bliss Merino DK, but I hear it pills so I haven’t decided what to do with it yet.

Plain yarn, not enough for a sweater:
Cascade stash

This is mostly Cascade 220, mostly intended for things like hats, felted bags, and other small items. I have enough of the Valley Yarns Northampton in green and gray to make a vest, so I will swatch and see if it works for the Deep V Argyle vest.

Noro:
NoroStash

It’s pretty clear that I have a thing for Noro. I have vague plans for all of this yarn, actually. For instance, there is that sweater design project that I told you about awhile back. I won’t be working on it for awhile though, because I’m not working for clothing for myself until I see how this fitness plan turns out. (I’ve lost 11 pounds! Woo!) That pink and orange color in the upper right needs to be something for my sister, and I’m still figuring out what, exactly.

Cherry Tree Hill:
CTHStash

About a year and a half ago I went a little nuts with ebay and Cherry Tree Hill mill ends. I put one to good use with Serranoand I’m trying to figure out how to use the others.  The mauve and teal on the right is enough for a simple, light pullover.  You can see that I’ve started to wind the stuff in the center of the photo.  That was a gift from my wonderful Secret Pal Jody about a year ago.  I’ve been calling it “spruce” in my head because it is a mix of spruce green and brown.  I think that my next project will be to use that for some sort of shawl, maybe Tuscany or Shetland Triangle.

 Well, there you have it.  I didn’t show anything currently in use on a secret project, nor my oddball bin which is lost in the basement somewhere.  Man, that’s a lot of yarn.

14 thoughts on “Flashing the Stash

  1. holy crap that is a ridiculous amount of noro right there. i’m so jealous! it takes me more effort than should be necessary not to buy out the webs kureyon stock in certain colors every time i walk by it.

    ps hi 🙂

  2. Hi Emilee!! You mentioned me on your blog as a “wonderful secret pal”, thank you!!
    Your yarns are lovely, that is a great stash you got there!!

Leave a Reply

