Hemlock Ring Blanket

hemlock

Finished!

Pattern: Hemlock Ring Blanket, Brooklyn Tweed
Yarn: Cascade Eco+ 1.5 hanks
Needles: Knitpicks Options Harmony, #10
Dates: March 1, 2008 – April 12, 2008

I really enjoyed making this.  It had the perfect mix of interesting pattern rounds and mindless plain rounds.  I did the whole chart, so mine is bigger than most.  The bind off took forever, but I think it looks neat and it was worth it.  The only problem was maneuvering the huge number of stitches around the needle.  It was especially difficult because the rippled edge caused the stitches to exert some pressure on the cable.  I killed two Options cables trying to get the stitches around.

 oops

Once again, I am amazed at the miracle of blocking lace. Here it is, fresh off the needles. I can’t decide if this is “slime mold phase” or “dog’s breakfast phase” but either way it’s ugly. My shoe is in the frame for scale.

ewwbarf

But then I blocked it, and the beautiful pattern revealed itself. 

hemlocktexture

While this pattern was fun, it wasn’t really “bloggable.”  First of all, it was a surprise, and the recipient checks the blog every so often.  So even if she wouldn’t have known it was for her, I felt a little weird talking about it publicly.  I can talk about it now because the package is with some trusted couriers who have probably already given it to the recipient.  (Hopefully they took pictures when they delivered it.)  Secondly, it was a boring project to write about.  The one post I did about it was the only one in recent memory that went six days without a single comment.  (No, I wasn’t offended 😉 ).  But seriously, there wasn’t much to look at and there wasn’t much to say.  It was a fun, relatively easy project that didn’t look like anything special until the very end.  But now that I’m done, I’ll say this: its popularity is well-deserved and I highly recommend it.

17 thoughts on “Hemlock Ring Blanket

  1. Wow! That’s so gorgeous 🙂 I’m waiting impatiently for my Ecowool to get to my side of the Atlantic so I can start on mine. The recipient is a very lucky lady, I’m sure it will be much loved.

  2. He! “Slime mold stage” 🙂

    It’s so pretty Emily – I love the bright color (and I too will never get over the magic of blocking lace!) Your friend will be blown away.

  3. Beautiful! What a great color! I really want to make one of these at some point, but I don’t think I have the right needles. Will have to get a pair (or two or three, sounds like) of super long Options.

  4. Beautiful work! I just got the yarn for mine but it’s on the back burner until my current sweater done. I can’t wait to start on it.

  5. The laprobe is beautiful. I will treasure it always, not only because it is beautiful but because you knit it for me. Love you, G’ma

  6. It’s really exquisite! I’m amazed that you were able to do that while going to school. I would have needed a “mindless knit” and that is definitely not mindless!

Leave a Reply

