Is it June already?

As you’ve no doubt noticed, I’ve fallen behind on my blogging lately.  Part of it is because I have some secret projects going, and I won’t be able to show you for a few months (you and lots of other people, hint hint).  I’ve also been busy in my non-knitting life.  I started a fantastic summer job 40 miles away, and the commute is really cutting into my knitting time.  But this blog has been very important to me, and I want to keep it going.

I started this blog in June 2006 to catalog my progress in finishing up a bunch of UFOs.  In celebration of my second bloggiversary, I intend to finish four UFOs in the month of June.

Everlasting Bagstopper

bright bag

This is for my sister Caroline, and it’s been going for about a year.  I’ve been “almost done” since February. I just need to sit down and get it done.

Endpaper Mitts

IMG_3196

These are obviously going to be too small, so I sort of lost interest. I’ll finish one and block it to see if it turns out wearable after all. If not, no harm done, it was a useful exercise in learning how to knit with two colors (one in each hand).

Wicked

wicked sleeves

I just need to finish the sleeves. Part of the reason I abandoned it is that I didn’t think it was flattering, but I’ve lost some weight and it looks fine now.

wicked

I haven’t decided on full sleeves or 3/4 sleeves. Any thoughts?

Serrano

Serrano is sort of heartbreaking. I spent so much time on it last year, and it does not fit properly. I was too crushed to figure out why not, but I think I’ve put my finger on it.

serrano sleeve cap

Do you see how pointy that sleeve cap is? It just does not provide enough room for my shoulders.  Compare to the rounded sleeve cap of the t-shirt I’m wearing:

sleeve cap rounded

I think I need to rip out all the seams, rip out the sleeve caps, re-do them, and sew it all together again. It will be worth it though.

9 thoughts on “Is it June already?

  1. Yay! The Wicked is very cute. I tend to prefer full sleeves to push up over 3/4 sleeves, just because I always feel like 3/4 sleeves are too short and ought to be longer. Maybe it’s me. =D

  2. That Wicked looks hot! I vote for the 3/4 sleeves, they’re flattering, and they also mean less knitting 😉

  3. Wicked is looking great and so are you! I’d go for 3/4 length sleeves; then you can wear it alone in warmer weather and layer it with long sleeve Ts in the winter.

    Those pointy sleeve caps wouldn’t cut it for me either – I’ve got strong shoulders too.

  4. Your Wicked looks fantastic! You’ve been so busy knitting, no wonder you’re behind on blogging. I haven’t been around much either, what with 3 business trips in 3 weeks, but now I’m back.

Leave a Reply

