Why hello there

Sorry I dropped off the face of the Earth for awhile there. Look, here I am, alive and well:

Aug-Sept 2008 223

I’ve had a really busy couple of months. My whole month of September was consumed by the law school recruiting season. Fortunately I have some good options open to me at this point, but it’s a really stressful process. Before that, I finished up my summer job and went to New Hampshire with my husband. I did a little bit of knitting, making a hat for Robyn and chipping away at that Shetland Triangle that I started earlier in the summer.  (PS when my husband saw that picture of Robyn he said “whoa, it’s bizarro-you wearing your hat!”  Robyn, I like your taste in glasses 😉 )

But that’s not why I was absent from the blog. To be honest, I had a knitter’s identity crisis. I feel a little bad even talking about this, because it might sound like I’m ungrateful for an amazing design opportunity that I had. I am incredibly grateful, and next time I’ll manage the whole thing better. But it was hard on me, and it killed my interest in knitting for awhile. I would be up late knitting, and my wrists and hands would be hurting, and I’d think “what am I doing to myself?” And it’s not that the project was difficult, it was just a quick time frame and I had a lot of other stuff going on. I didn’t work on it at all for one whole weekend because my room mate from college was visiting. I had a summer job 40 miles away and a law school writing contest. Normally when I have a lot going on I relax and clear my head by knitting. The fact that I was stressed out about knitting, of all things, really threw me off.

In the mean time, knitting is my hobby. Knitting is my creative side, my relaxation. It is not my WORK.

Back to your regularly scheduled programming.

9 thoughts on “Why hello there

  1. Welcome back!

    I understand what you mean about letting knitting become work — it’s a fine balance, particularly when you do want to take up the exciting opportunities (which do generally come with some obligations).

    Glad to hear you’ve come out the other side reasonable unscathed.

  2. I felt the same way with photography. I took it in school after not knowing what to do. And now I refuse to work in it because it’s like “I don’t want to end up hating it” so I’m keeping it as my hobby and not working in it professionally.

    I love my new hat. THANK YOU! Glad you like my glasses. I actually just pulled them out around the time that I received your hat, because my son (now 21 months old) snapped the arm off my regular pair (the ones you like are my old regular pair, that I’ve now been wearing constantly). It’s great when you have an uncle who sells glasses!

    Hope to see you back blogging! And thank you again for the hat!

  3. welcome back!
    You’ve just described exactly how I feel about dressmaking/design – It’s a hobby not work and that’s why I stopped doing it for a while.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your knitting:)

  4. Welcome Back E! Can’t wait to see you’re new design, though I’m sorry to hear of the stress (and understand!! Deadlines can take the joy right out of it hey?) – I hope in the end it all will have been worthwhile. Glad that you’re knitting again 🙂

  5. Pingback: WIP Wednesday - Sweater Edition « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

