Election Night Knitting

Whew!  It’s been quite a week.  Very exciting.

I have to admit, I was so obsessed with reading the election coverage online that my knitting has suffered in recent weeks. I have been meaning to start a specific sweater project (more on that in a few days) which involves quite a bit of ribbing along the bottom of the body. I knew that I would be glued to the TV all day on Tuesday, so it seemed like a good time to do some mindless 1×1 ribbing.

Here is my Election Day in photos

3:30 pm:
CO

In my break between my morning and evening classes, I used a crochet provisional cast-on to CO 129 stitches.

9:30 pm:
930pm

I had class until 6:30, then I ate dinner, so I was only this far by the time Ohio was called for Obama (and it became obvious that he would win) at 9:30. This is me converting the 129 provisional stitches into 256 stitches of a tubular cast-on.

bluewine

I toasted Ohio with a glass of blue-tinted chardonnay. This is a reference to the election night party I attended in 2004. It was my senior year of college, and we decided to be bipartisan and toast red states with red drinks and blue states with blue drinks. It turns out that there are 50 states. Bad idea.

11:00 pm:
1130pm

This is where I was when they called the west coast, and the election, for Obama. I didn’t get too much farther, because I got emotional.  What can I say but God Bless America?

One thought on “Election Night Knitting

  1. Pingback: My own DPP - Sizing « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

