Dainty Pinstripes Pullover

As many of you noticed earlier this week, I have a sweater pattern in the Winter 2008 issue of Interweave Knits, the Dainty Pinstripes Pullover.  This has been such a surreal, exciting experience that I had an “I’ll believe it when I see it” attitude about the whole thing, and I didn’t really tell people about it.  Well here it is!

Nov 2008 004a

Here I am taking a page from the Kate Gilbert playbook:

IMG_3567a

I’m delighted with the photo spread, particularly because some of the photos are next to a marble fireplace, similar to mine, my favorite feature of my house and next to which I knit a lot of the sweater.  I’m particularly excited that the photo in the lower left of the magazine page above shows the back detail, because it’s my favorite part:

 IMG_3559a

It’s less obvious from the photos what’s happening in front. There are increases there too, arranged to look like princess seams:

IMG_3560a

The whole thing is knit in the round, with raglan decreases sporting one pinstripe each:

IMG_3572a

That picture should also give you an idea of how the pinstripes are created.

On election day I started my very own in pink and purple, but I haven’t worked on it since. I didn’t want to jinx anything, and I have Christmas knitting to work on! I am so excited to be able to show you the version I’m knitting for myself as it takes shape. While this has been a very exciting experience, it was a very lonely one. I knit the whole sweater in three weeks, which kind of killed my knitting mojo (and the blog) for awhile. But I’m back! And now that the sweater is public, I have renewed enthusiasm for knitting, blogging, and designing.

19 thoughts on “Dainty Pinstripes Pullover

  1. I just saw it in the magazine and love it!! I have some Alpaca & Silk in my stash, but only in one color – so I may figure out what color to pair with spring green and use it for this!

  2. Oh my gosh, Emilee, that sweater is gorgeous!! I hadn’t even had a chance to look at the IK preview yet, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be buying it even if it’s just for this sweater. I love the stripes, the fit, everything about it… congratulations!!

  3. Congratulations Emilee!! I was so excited to see your name in the preview when it came out, and in print when I received my mag last night – what a gorgeous piece. The details the shaping and raglan lines are really something special, you should be so pleased and proud!!

  4. I was so excited for you- when I saw your name I started squealing! That must be the most awesome feeling ever… congratulations! 🙂 And the sweater is absolutely gorgeous, by the way! 🙂

  5. Congratulations again! It must be a relief to have the secret out…so glad that you have your creative impulses going again. Can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

  6. I got my IK the other day, saw your pattern, and was so excited for you! I will definitely be making this – thanks for the great sweater, and congrats!

  7. Congratulations! It’s a lovely sweater and going on my must knit list… once I’ve knit up some of my stash. Can’t break the yarn diet right now, but this will be some of the first yarn I get.

  8. Pingback: NaKniSweMo – Swatching « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

