Exchequered in Progress

It’s final exam time here in law school land, so I’ve been spending most of my time with my three close friends Evidence, Land Use, and Federal Income Tax.  What fun!

I have been doing some knitting though, mostly to counteract the caffeine and adrenaline that fuel me during this time of year.  I’ve been working on Exchequered, because it requires enough concentration to truly take my mind off of thing and give me a break from law.

 nov-dec2008 038

Also, because I am a total nerd, I will point out that its name makes Exchequered particularly appropriate for law school knitting.  The Court of Exchequer Chamber was a court of appeals in England “back in the day” (as the kids say) which law students encounter reading oldies-but-goodies such as Hadley v. Baxendale, one of the classic Contracts cases.

Double-knitting is fun once you get the hang of it, and I’m loving the results, but I’m having tension issues.  The edge stitches are particularly bad.

nov-dec2008 042

Does anyone have any hints?

8 thoughts on “Exchequered in Progress

  1. I’m currently decompressing from my legal ethics exam. 😉

    I made this scarf a while ago, and had the same issue with the edge stitches. I had to make sure the yarns were twisted aroud each other and pulled ridiculously tight. My exchequered scarf is something like 7′ long, and it took about 3′ of knitting on it before I really got the hang of the edge stitches.

    Good luck with your finals and knitting!

  2. I love the pattern! I’m not involved with legal studies at all, but I’ve read enough Dickens to get the irony of the name. I was thinking about the fact that it was appropriate knitting for law school, just as you mentioned it.

    I have never tried carrying up the side of two-color knitting, so I’m afraid I have no hints there. For tension in the stranded sections, I just make sure that the stitches are always really stretched out on my right needle, which seems to help keep the tension evenly distributed. The tension doesn’t look that bad in the photo, though, and it will probably look better after blocking.

    Good luck with finals!

  3. I’ve never tried double knitting so I can’t give you any hints on how to solve the edge-stitch-situation. I can, however, tell you that I think your scarf looks great! 🙂

  4. I have yet to master a clean dk edge, so I can’t help you there. (In fact, if you figure it out, drop me a line.) Re dk tension in general, I tend to work on slightly smaller needles than I’d normally use and to work fairly tightly. My first serious dk project was nonreversible, and my tension was so bad on my first try that I knit it again. I’ve found reversible 2-color dk easier. I agree that any minor wonkiness should come out in the blocking — it did for me.

    Thanks for your kind words on my scarf pattern!

  5. Hope exams are going well! I remember those days when my husband had contracts and the like.

    I’m sorry I don’t have any hints for you, but the scarf looks great — a very eyecatching pattern.

  6. Oh, what a GREAT pattern. I’ve been looking forward to trying double knitting, but none yet – so no advice here, sorry!

    Best of luck with your exams and I hope you get some good downtime over the holidays!

  7. wow wow wow , I love the double knitting scarf.. it looks so cool! 🙂
    but I am not good in it, I mean, I don’t have such patient.. and feel so tired to hold two strands back and forth ….

Leave a Reply

