2008 – the year in knitting

I had a bunch of knitting goals for 2008.  I didn’t get into Knitty again, but I did get into Interweave, which was super exciting.  That other pattern I needed to write up was the Bat Shawl, which I obviously did accomplish.  My goal to re-learn stranded knitting went off the rails, but I hope to pick it up again in 2009 (2009 goals to follow in an upcoming post).

I did not finish Serrano or Tailored Scallops this year.  In fact, I did not finish any sweater for myself.  I came to the realization that I didn’t like how Serrano looked on me because I didn’t like the way I looked.  I gained 15 lbs in 2007, but I lost 20 in 2008.  In 2009 I’d like to lose maybe another 10, maintain healthy eating habits, and finish those sweaters.

And now, 2008 in review.

January: 
Finished Red Light Special for my mom, then made one for myself.

IMG_3136IMG_3156a

I started Endpaper Mitts and while I was really happy with the way they looked, they were coming out way too small so I won’t actually finish them. I’m thinking of them as more of a swatch to get used to two-handed fair-isle.

February:
I revealed a design project which I have not worked on in awhile, but I intend to work on it again in the new year.

I finished Mr. Greenjeans and some socks, both for my mom.

IMG_3252aIMG_3298a

March:
I started Hemlock Ring and swore off knitting for myself until I was happy with my weight.

I also sent Interweave a submission packet for what would become Dainty Pinstripes Pullover. I’m kicking myself for not taking a picture.

April:
I finished Hemlock Ring for my grandmother and Sheldon for baby Walt.
hemlocktextureIMG_3431a

May:
I’m not sure if I did much knitting.  I was too busy to blog about it, anyway.

June:
On June 2, I got a call from Eunny Jang offering what was then known only as “Pinstipe Pullover” a spot in the Winter 2008 issue of Interweave.  A bag of yarn arrived a few days later, and I spent basically every free moment swatching, knitting, and doing math for the pattern.  I also wrote up the Bat Shawl pattern.

July:
I sent DPP to the Interweave HQ in Colorado via FedEx overnight.  I started Shetland Triangle.  The Bat Shawl was published in the Anticraft.

105a

August-October:
I was pretty burned out from my DPP marathon, so I wasn’t knitting a lot.  I also interviewed with 20 or so law firms, looking for a summer job (and found one).  Finally, I was captivated by the election, so I spent much more time than usual reading stuff online.  At some point during this time period I started Exchequered three times before I was happy with it.

November:
I could finally go public with Dainty Pinstripes Pullover!  While this pattern hasn’t been as popular as Foliage, it is awesome to see my name in print.

December:
I made Vestee, which I have not yet been able to present because of the snow.  Hopefully it will fit baby Nate!

I made three Christmas ornaments, two for some friends and one as an inside-joke with my husband.

009dude 002
Yesterday my sister caught a glimpse of Exchequered and said she really liked it, so I’m happy about that but it’s not quite finished. And today I finished knitting Shetland Triangle, and took photos in the last rays of sunlight in 2008. It is blocking now, and the full details will come in 2009.
shetland triangle 016

It was a pretty good year. Here’s to 2009. Happy New Year!

10 thoughts on “2008 – the year in knitting

  1. Happy New Year! The Interweave publication is such a cool thing to have achieved this year and I *love* the pattern too. Here’s hoping 2009 brings even bigger and better stuff your way 🙂

  2. Pingback: Serrano… finally « Emilee Knits
  3. Pingback: 2009 – the year in knitting « Emilee Knits
  4. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

