Happy 2009!

Happy new year everyone!

I am not going to go into detail with my knitting goals like I did last year. If there is one thing I learned about knitting in 2008 it’s that I don’t need to add stress and deadlines, because that kills the fun.

Instead, this year my knitting goals can be summed up in one phrase: learn something new. I have all these design ideas floating around in my head, but I’m not comfortable enough with cables or multicolor knitting to execute them yet. So this year, each project that I start for myself will incorporate some new skill that I want to practice. First up: Ester, to practice cables.

I would also like to finish a bunch of WIPs, including Wicked, Serrano, Tailored Scallops, Caroline’s Bagstopper and a secret blanket project.

I also intend to blog more, and a bit differently. I want to bring back “Swatch Saturday” to remind me to contribute to the WTP and blog at least once a week. I also hope that trying out new stitch patterns will spark design inspiration.

Here’s to a happy and productive 2009 for you and yours!

14 thoughts on “Happy 2009!

  1. Thanks for the comment on the tam. I had no idea that you designed the Dainty Pinstripes Pullover; it’s my absolute favorite pattern in that issue!

  2. Congratulations again on DPP. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work in 2009!

    I agree with what you said, about not setting specific goals for 2009, but to learn new techniques. I’ve just started beading with the ornaments, and hope to ramp up to a scarf soon.

  3. Those are great knitting goals! I’m not all that good at colorwork either, and I’ve already started another colorwork project to change that. Learning new things is exciting, liberating, and a really, really good resolution.

  4. Happy New Year to you too Emilee! I like your loosely defined knitting goals 😉 (worked for me!) And your DPP – what a really excellent achievement in ’08. Here’s to an great ’09 and expanding knitting skills!

  5. Pingback: 2009 – the year in knitting « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

