Week 3 – Macedonian Stitch

Macedonian Pattern

This is Macedonian Stitch from the Second Treasury. I think this pattern would be nice for a man’s sweater, because it’s somewhat interesting to work but simple enough for a guy to wear (particularly if the color contrast was more subtle).

Macedonian color switch

Initially I thought that it looked better with the darker color as the background, but now I think they look equally nice. It has a more subtle look when the background is the lighter color. The texture and the lighter color both “pop” against the rest of it, so when the texture is in the darker color it balances out.

Note: I’ve decided to switch “Swatch Saturday” to “Swatch Sunday” because it fits my schedule better.

3 thoughts on “Week 3 – Macedonian Stitch

  1. Interesting! When I look at these two swatches I see two completely different patterns. It wasn’t until I read your words on trying out the same pattern twice but having switched the colours around that I got it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

