Wicked

Wicked 2

Wicked is finally finished, after two years of hibernation! Hooray! Thank you Finish or Frog KAL!

 Photobucket

Also, thank you to my law school knitting buddy Diane for providing some inspiration.  Did I ever tell you that I admired your Wicked in Federal Income Tax last semester?

I like the way it turned out. I think I was unhappy with it before because I (sound familiar?) wasn’t happy with the way I looked in general. To be honest, another reason I let it sit for so long was that I wasn’t thrilled with the pattern itself. I find Zephyr Style patterns to be so simple (which is a good thing) that sometimes make silly design choices (which is not such a good thing). For example, the instructions for my size call for 33 cable motifs around the neck. I hate the way it looks when prominent seams fail to align with prominent design elements. Why not 32 cables, so it DOES align?  So anyway, I did 32 cables, and aligned the raglan increases with the cable motif. It only added like a centimeter in length.

Wicked neckline

I knit the cuffs two years after the bottom hem, so they don’t match exactly. But who cares? Close enough, right?

Wicked cuffs

I decided to do 3/4 length sleeves because it’s such a great color for spring that I didn’t want it to be excessively warm. I used Knitpicks Andean Silk, which is quite cozy. I’m happy with how it turned out, and happy that it’s the perfect weather this week to wear it!

Wicked 1

31 thoughts on “Wicked

  1. It looks great! I think your decision to reduce the number of cables is wise — it’s funny how something can make a garment “off” without being blatently obvious.

  2. lovely! I really like the color and three quarter sleeve is always a good option. I always push the sleeves up anyway and ruin the cuffs.

  3. It looks great!

    I agree that the pattern is so simple that Zephyr made silly mistakes on the cable numbers, I remember having a similar issue when I made mine.

  4. I love it! Great color, and I like the changes you made to make the cables align. Small things like that always bug me too, but I usually am too lazy to do anything about it.

    Another knitter in your Federal Income Tax class? Sounds like fun. That’s how I met Amanda Furlan (designer of the Dirndl Raglan) – we were classmates in the MBA program at NIU. Now she’s part of my KIB group.

    Do you have to take any other tax classes? If so feel free to chat with me about it. I don’t have a law degree but I have a master’s in tax (MST) and I’m the tax director at a mid-size company.

  5. Your sweater is gorgeous. I like the Zephyr patterns in general, but sometimes I wonder why they decide to write things the way they do. Anyway… your Wicked looks great!

  6. Ooh – I like everything about your Wicked – the color, the 3/4 sleeves, the no-pocket , the yarn, the fit. It’s a perfect sweater for you. So glad you finall finished it. I bet that feels great. Wear it well.

  7. I love your Wicked. Great colour choice too ( green I see…). I wear mine all the time, very wearable design and yours will be so nice in spring with shorter sleeves xx

  8. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂
    Love this sweater… I have the pattern tucked away and I think you may have just given me the nudge to start my very own Wicked. This is a beautiful FO. I agree – great change to make to 32 cables around the neck.

  9. It’s a great knit Emilee – and you look terrific!!

    I have issues with trims that don’t flow into pattern as well – good choice on the mod-ed neck 🙂

  10. Pingback: Tales from the Crypt « Emilee Knits
  11. Pingback: 2009 – the year in knitting « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

