Finish one shawl, start another

I finished knitting Ishbel last night.

031

I haven’t started blocking it yet, and I’m not sure I will today. It’s been so disgustingly humid here that it will take forever to dry, so I need to think carefully about where I’ll pin it out.

My Ishbel is extra large (details in the FO post to follow) so I used about 1.5 skeins of Tosh Sock. I have an additional skein of Tosh Sock in Logwood (a lovely mottled lavender) which I was planning on using for the ever-popular Monkey Socks. I’m not a big sock gal though (which is why I’m the only knitter left who’s never finished a Cookie A pattern) so I’d been having second thoughts.

029

The light purple Logwood looks so great with the deep purple Clematis that I have left over that I feel like I must combine them in some sort of colorwork project. Despite my French heritage and the Scottish family I married into, berets and tams don’t seem to work out for me. Nonetheless, I’m drawn to Selbu Modern.

I realized after posting my August Update the other day that I ought to start my red project if I am going to keep up with Project Spectrum.  The yarn overs before the feathers start on the Seraphim Shawl have always reminded me of sparks coming off a fire.  I’m really channeling the fire element by knitting my Seraphim in red.

038

This is Malabrigo Sock in Tiziano Red. Yum!

3 thoughts on “Finish one shawl, start another

  1. this might be obvious, but i often have to deal with long drying times in the dead of winter, sometimes over a week (i’ve had fear that mold might grow before). i find that putting a box fan near the item that is blocking really cuts down on drying time.

    and since it’s lace, it’ll dry that much faster.

Leave a Reply

