Serrano… finally

Is that…? Could it be…?

143

Yes, I’ve finally finished Serrano!

149

Pattern: Serrano, by Laura Chau (Knitty, Fall 2006)
Yarn:  Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Mill End from ebay (color close to Loden)

Please excuse the pictures, it was getting dark but I really wanted to get it in for Finish or Frog Friday. After two years in sweater purgatory, it is finally finished!

Photobucket

Good God, what a saga this has been.  I started it in April 2007, when we were still living in Boston.  In September 2007 I declared that we were in the home stretch.  Ha! I had intended to finish it in 2008, but I didn’t.   So here we are, nearing the end of 2009.

I’ve had two main problems, the first of which was the sleeve caps.   They just aren’t as rounded as most sleeve caps, they’re pointy.   As a result, the shoulder area did not fit well at all.   I’ve re-blocked it, and while it still isn’t perfect, it is much better than it was and certainly good enough.

In March I declared an intention to actually finish this. Later that month, I noted that I was having a hard time figuring out how to close it. And indeed, it took me another seven months to figure it out.  The original Serrano was made from Schaefer Anne, which is just not as stretchy or “sproingy” as Cherry Tree Hill Supersock. CTH is very stretchy, so the whole hook-and-eye tape thing was not working out. It just didn’t hang right with a non-stretchy closure along the whole front opening.

I finally found the right closure at Sit-n-Knit.

169

I’m really happy with the way the closure works with the finished sweater.

It took so long to do the pattern that I don’t really remember what, if any, mods I did. I do know, however, that I did a more cropped shape without the waste shaping. My gauge with the CTH was coming in smaller than the pattern was written for, so I basically followed the directions for a larger size and the gauge made it my size. That would have messed up the waist shaping, of course, so I just omitted it. I think it worked out.

042

I love the lace pattern, and I am very happy that it is finally finished.  I met the designer Laura/Cosmicpluto at Rhinebeck, which reminded me that I really ought to finish Serrano.  The best part is, I finished it just in time to wear it to Stitches East which is hitting my hometown THIS WEEKEND!  I’m sure I’ll have many more FO pictures after this weekend.

Let me know if you’ll be there.  I would love to meet you!

18 thoughts on “Serrano… finally

  1. i admire your persistence; i just get so far with sweaters and then think they’re ugly, or i won’t wear them — when they’d probably be as great as yours, if i had your perseverance!

  2. Just gorgeous. Kudos for seeing it through to the end! I have several projects that are taking time to go that last 5%, and some date farther back than 2007. In the end, I try not to mind, unless it’s for a baby that outgrew it!

  3. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. I love your sweater. It looks great on you and the closure you’ve found is gorgeous! I’ve got a similar closure waiting for me to knit the right sweater (or jumper, as we say down here). That’s so cool that “stitches” is in your home town! Hope you have a great time.

  4. Pingback: Stitches East « Emilee Knits
  5. I love this! Sorry to hear about the weirdly shaped sleeve cap – that would be a problem for me as well, as my shoulders are shaped like yours (normal! not sloping!) I like the idea of cropping the sweater and skipping the waist shaping. I did this on Favorite Cardigan (actually following the pattern, as it’s written that way) and liked the look. I need to take a new FO pic of it as I found a different way to style it that looks better (top three buttons closed, bottom open, instead of buttoning all.) Anyway, I love your Serrano. It turned out great. The color looks even better in your later post.

Leave a Reply

