Pink Pirates

090

Pattern: We Call Them Pirates
Yarn: Filatura di Crosa 501
Recipient: My sister Caroline

At first, I followed the pattern and the hat came out too short. I needed to add a fourth row of skulls.

I mess up my knitting and do surgery on it all the time. In fact, I think that the trademark of a confident knitter is less in the actual knitting, and more in the willingness to tinker and rework things. But I had never fixed colorwork before and I was really nervous about it for some reason. I threaded a sock needle through the top row of the third row of skulls…

005

and RIPPED!

011

And it was totally fine. I added another row of skulls, no problem, and finished it up. It turned out great! I think I smell a pair of Pirate Mittens in her future!

3 thoughts on “Pink Pirates

  1. Pingback: 2009 – the year in knitting « Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

