Daybreak

079

Pattern: Daybreak by Stephen West
Yarn: Malabrigo Sock in African Violet and Tiziano Red
Recipient: My mom

My mom loves the color red, so I knew I had to use this color to make something for her. I picked Daybreak because she isn’t really a lace shawl person, and I liked the shallow, more scarf-like shape.

064

She really seemed to like it!

This was a really fun and fast project (it only took eight days for the medium size). The slip stitch detail spices up an otherwise simple stripe pattern to make something much more interesting.

075

And as I said, I really like the shape. It works as a shawlette, but I think my mom would use it more as a scarf.

086

Malabrigo Sock is my favorite yarn of 2009. It’s so soft and comes in such wonderful colors.

5 thoughts on “Daybreak

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Mom! | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

