Ravelympics Preview

I’ve decided to participate in Ravelympics this year, but not with a knitting project. I’ll be challenging myself with spinning.

004
(3.5 oz. of superwash merino in “Twilight” by Cloudlover69)

This will be yarn before the torch goes out.

What ever happened to that green stuff, you ask?

008

I’m about halfway through. It’s coming along. I took a break from spinning to do a crazy amount of knitting in November and December, but I’m actually itching to spin again. The purple stuff will be just the thing to kick-start me, I think. And I’m sure I’ll improve as a spinner, so the second half of green singles will be more even. The plan is to ply the first half (more solid green) with the second half (more varied shades of green) so I think it’ll be ok.

I wasn’t sure I would do a spinning project for Ravelympics, but then I got a sign. My SnB did “Secret Snowflake” presents and exchanged them a couple of weeks ago. The lovely and talented Karen got me spinning supplies!

015

Perfect! Now that I have a niddy-noddy and WPI thingy, there is no excuse. Time to get spinning!

8 thoughts on “Ravelympics Preview

  1. Hooray- you’re really coming along! My first singles were a bit thick and thin too- and they got better pretty quickly. Just make sure you spin at least 10 minutes a day- it helps your body develop muscle memory, and everything gets easier after that. 🙂

  2. My mom got me spinning lessons for Christmas. I am really bad at it, but find it very relaxing. I need to buy a heavier drop spindle…any suggestions?

  3. Love the site! I have a drop spindle and some roving, but I am petrified to mess it up since I have never spun before. Do you recommend that book as a good guide?

Leave a Reply

