Meet Penelope

Penelope 016

This is my brand new Kromski Minstrel. I named her Penelope after Odysseus’s wife, who wove by day and ripped out her work by night (you should scroll all the way down on that mythology page. I love that painting!)

Penelope 004

She arrived on Thursday night while I was at SnB, wrapped snugly in Polish newspapers. I ordered her from Copper Moose and was very happy with the service.

I chose the Minstrel for a few reasons. For one, the look really fits in my house.

Penelope 025

Second, I decided that I really wanted double treadle after playing with my husband’s drum set. It’s a lot easier for me to do something with my hands if both of my feet are moving in the same way, rather than moving one and holding the other still. Third, Dr. Al let me use her Minstrel, and I felt very comfortable using it.

Penelope 006

I’m very happy so far!

(The pretty blue fiber is BFL in “tranquility” by The Painted Sheep)

17 thoughts on “Meet Penelope

  1. Oooh, so exciting! I chose to buy a new laptop first and then save up for a wheel later…but looking at your wheel I wish I would have reversed my decision! I love the dark wood. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  2. So jealous. I wish I’d gotten a DT when I had the opportunity. Oh well- guess I get to be a multi-wheel household! 😀

    Can’t wait to see all the gorgeous yarns you end up churning out.

Leave a Reply

