Handspun Shalom

Shalom 6

I finished Shalom! It used almost all of the handspun I had, so probably 425 or so yards.

Shalom 3

It’s got an… interesting texture. Let’s call it rustic, rather than lumpy, ok? In all honesty though, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out considering what a disaster it could have been. In a fit of “go big or go home” spirit I bought a huge amount of green fiber at Rhinebeck (I think from Spinners Hill) without knowing how to spin AT ALL. Now that I’ve been doing some other spinning, I can tell that this fiber was nowhere near as easy to draft as some others.  But hey, I knit with it and the result is wearable!  Between the texture and the mottled green coloring, it sort of reminds me of moss.

Shalom 4

I was concerned that the texture and color variations would obscure the twisted rib in the yoke to the point that it wouldn’t be worth doing, but I think you can totally see it. It’s recognizable as Shalom rather than a generic cap-sleeve cardigan.

Shalom 2

The fit is very similar to the fit of my February Lady, which is a relief. The yarn was so lumpy that it made the whole concept of gauge pretty difficult to work with, so I had to try it on as I went and hope that it wouldn’t grow too much when I blocked it.

Shalom 1

I basically followed the pattern, accounting for the fact that it was different yarn and I’m a lot bigger than the designer. The most noticeable modification is that I did a 9-stitch garter band for the fronts and am using the chunky pewter shawl pin I got at Stitches East as a closure, instead of a button at the top.

Shalom 5

I also deviated from the pattern by making the arm holes quite a bit smaller than called for, and I think it worked out for the best. I’ve seen some of the sleeves on this pattern turn out like little wings (or Zapp Brannigan’s futuristic epaulets). Hmm, that was kind of mean, sorry. But I’m sure you know what I mean.

In my grand tradition of finishing items JUST as the changing weather renders them unsuitable, I finished this on Wednesday, when the temperature reached the 90s and broke an 80 year old record. Fortunately today was quite a bit cooler, especially in the evening. I’m glad I got to wear it once before putting it away for the summer!

31 thoughts on “Handspun Shalom

  1. Wow, I think it’s fantastic that you’re able to say you really did this by hand from start to finish! And I think it looks genuinely great!

  2. What a beautiful sweater, Emilee. The color is wonderful and the variegation shows nicely. I like the shawl pin. You’ve done a wonderful job with the fit… in all aspects, a terrific sweater!

  3. The thick-and-thin texture of handspun is my favorite part! It’s a beautiful cardigan, and it’s even better knowing you made it from your own yarn. Great job!

  4. Beautiful! I love the color and the texture. I think you made a perfect mod with the sleeves – too many cardis with that type of short sleeve DO look like “little wings” and it’s not an attractive look, IMHO. Yours look perfect.

  5. I think it came out beautiful! I can see the “rustic” texture in the closeups but it doesn’t look lumpy or anything, and you can definitely see the definition of the twisted rib.

  6. It looks gorgeous! I really applaud the “go big or go home” attitude – who wants to wade carefully into the kiddie pool? I’m definitely the cannonball into the deep end type myself (although, this swimming metaphor doesn’t necessarily hold up since I don’t really like the water). ANYway, wonderful job! I think the high level of texture actually makes the pattern a lot more interesting, & that color is amazing.

  7. This is lovely! I you did a super job! I think I will have to dig out some of my handspun and try one out my self.

    I too knit sweaters just in time for summer.
    sigh….

  8. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Emilee Knits
  9. Pingback: Spin me like a hurricane | Emilee Knits
  10. Pingback: Tour de Fleece – Days 1 and 2 | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

