Hollyhock

057

Pattern: Citron, Knitty Winter 2009
Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in Hollyhock, one skien

Thanks to my neighbor’s talented gardening and a stroke of good timing, there actually is a hollyhock blooming in our yard, in almost exactly the perfect color. I love how the ruffles on the shawlette mirror the ruffled petals.

044

I’m pleased with how it turned out, even if it is quite small.

032

It works nicely as a scarf, and Malabrigo lace is deliciously soft. This is the first time I’ve used it, and I can see what the fuss is about.

This would have been a very tedious project if I had been in a better place, emotionally. I cast on just two days before the bar exam started, when I desperately needed zombie knitting. It was one of those times that I really leaned on my knitting as a coping mechanism rather than just a hobby. Now I’m done with the bar, and I have a lovely little shawlette as a souvenir!

15 thoughts on “Hollyhock

  1. Oh, that’s so pretty! I love the color. I’ve been wanting to try that pattern for ages…

    It must feel amazing to be done! My husband went through that experience a few years ago (the first summer we were married — no honeymoon for us, just Barbri and all that nonsense).

  2. That is absolutely lovely! I can’t wait to start on my Citron…

    Isn’t Malabrigo Lace divine?? I’m working with it for the first time as well, and I can’t believe I never bothered to pick it up before!

  3. that’s the perfect pattern for zoning out. i might make another one someday if i’m in that kind of place mentally.

    yours is very pretty!

  4. Very pretty! I liked knitting that pattern, but I wasn’t too pleased with what I came up with–your Malabrigo one is gorge!

  5. Looks great, and I know exactly what you mean about needing zombie knitting right before the bar. I’m not sure I did anything but stockinette the week before, I was just too overwhelmed with law to handle anything else.

  6. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

