Summer Spinning

I’ve been chipping away on my projects, but not as much as I would have thought. I’ve been reading for pleasure for the first time since I started law school, which is very exciting. I loved the John Adams biography by David McCullough, and have enjoyed the first 100 or so pages of The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb. Any book recommendations?

But, of course, I can’t NOT play with yarn. I can’t swear that I spun every day of Tour de Fleece, but I did spin most days. After I finished on Cairns, I started on BFL dyed in “Shadow Walker” (black and gray) by Natural Obsessions. I have 8 oz of this stuff, so I’ll be chipping away at it for awhile.

016

In honor of the mountain stage of the TDF, I taught myself how to Andean ply.

027
(Andes Mountains, get it?)

The main event lately has been Spunky Eclectic merino/silk in Juniper, for the Four Ounce Challenge.

002

It will be a two ply, and I’m starting the second bobbin now.

010

While there is a lot of color variation in the roving, the singles are coming out a fairly even, heathered silvery turquoise.

014

I think it will be really pretty.

4 thoughts on “Summer Spinning

Leave a Reply

