Travel Knitting

We had a wonderful time in Australia! If you’d like, you can check out the travel photos here.

My travel companion through most of the trip was Coquille, seen here on a train in the Blue Mountains.

Blue Mountains 003

I finished it on my second-to-last evening in Australia, and I love how it turned out. I think it really shows off my Cairns handspun.

Byron Bay 234

Byron Bay 173

Byron Bay 189

So the main beach in Byron Bay isn’t exactly the place for a wool shawl. It made a pretty backdrop.

Byron Bay 191

And how long does it take to get home from Australia? Long enough to knit 63 rounds of Shedir.

012

This was the perfect pattern for a 32-hour door-to-door journey. It was just complicated enough to keep my mind busy, but easy enough to memorize that I could carry on despite major sleep deprivation and jetlag. Again, I’m pleased with the way it turned out.

076

I gave Juniper a tour of Australia, but I still haven’t decided what I’ll make with it. Think I can finish 4 oz challenge in the next two weeks?

11 thoughts on “Travel Knitting

  1. Wow, what an amazing vacation that must have been. The longest journey I’ve ever done is 18 hours door to door to South America. I hope you post some pics! I like the pic of you in the sunglasses modeling the shawl. Very cute!

  2. Those photos make me miss the lovely beaches of Oz! Glad you had a lovely trip, and your knitting shows up to great advantage – what perfect colors for your Coquille.

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

