Socktoberfest!

In honor of Socktoberfest, I decided to knit socks with my own handspun.

So this

october 096

was turned into this:

spinning 013
Fiber is 60% superwash merino, 30% bamboo rayon and 10% nylon, hand-dyed by Cloudlover, in R’lyeh

I spun it when I was waiting to hear about the bar exam (passed!) so it’s a bit uneven. The Heelless Sleeping Sock by Nancy Bush (in Knitting Vintage Socks) is very forgiving.

october 019
The pattern calls for the ribs to rotate in an S-twist direction, but just for kicks I decided to do one Z-twist.

october 014

october 005

They’re the most fraternal socks I’ve ever made, but I still like them.

Speaking of socks, this is all I bought at Stitches East:

october 043

I see a lot of socks in my future. Perfect, because I have a TON of sock yarn in my stash!

12 thoughts on “Socktoberfest!

  1. Congrats on passing the bar exam!

    And have fun with the new sock book. I bought it a year and half ago when I visited North America and I still take it off the shelf to look at it on a regular basis. I’ve tried three patterns and finished two of them.

  2. Those turned out great! Do they really not have a heel, like a tube sock?
    I have tht book and love it, though I have yet to knit any of the patterns.

  3. Congrats on finishing your Socktoberfest socks! They look great. I’m still working on mine – don’t think I’ll actually finish them by tomorrow. But soon! 🙂

  4. YAY for passing the bar. We cheered for you at dinner last night… well for you and Tracy – she is now board certified.

    I also love that we finally convinced you to knit some socks.

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

