How Emilee got her groove back

I was in a mindless knitting rut for quite some time. After chickening out on the steeks for my Deep V Argyle Vest, I had been working on Imogen, Featherweight Cardigan, and Cecchetti, all dead simple miles-of-stockinette patterns. It was really boring.

February 017005

When I’m stressed out, I love that I can clear my head by focusing on knitting. My mistake was was working on projects that were too easy, so they didn’t take my mind off anything.

A couple of weeks ago, I decided that I might as well wind up Slither, my Rhinebeck ribbon yarn.

002

Within a couple minutes, I cast on for Bitterroot.

013

This has been exactly what I need to get back in the swing of things. I am very proud of Slither, and Bitterroot is a great pattern, so I can barely put it down.

023

It’s just involved enough that I have to watch what I’m doing, and have to clear my head. It’s not hard enough to be frustrating. Perfect!

6 thoughts on “How Emilee got her groove back

  1. Love the new project! Glad you figured out how to get your knitting groove back — I know what you mean about a project that requires a certain amount of attention. Perri Klass, knitting pediatrician and writer, wrote an article about the benefits achieved by knitting during meetings. Wish I had the link, but I cannot recall how/where I cam across it.

  2. I’m really glad you’re back, but most importantly I’m happy that you have acknowledged the therapeutic aspects of knitting. I’m a teacher and after a long stressful day with young kids the feel of wool in my hands has a calming effect that I can’t get from anything else. Keep blogging please — I enjoy your posts!

  3. So happy to hear that your groove is back! And the new project looks lovely — I can’t wait to see more.

  4. Emilee, thank you for your last two posts. I completely relate to both. I also have been debating taking down my blog as my posts are few and far between now (though I do go in “spurts” where I am interested in posting) but I came to the same conclusion you did. Also on the knitting, I had the same experience. I wasn’t really knitting, and every time I did, I was working on these mindless projects because I thought that’s really all I could handle – but again, I kept obsessing about work while I was working on these projects and I wasn’t able to relax at all. So I decided to make something out of a yarn I loved in my stash – Caribbean turquoise Tess Cultivated Silk & Wool, and that something is not a sweater. It’s the Frost Diamonds worsted weight shawl by Stefanie Japel published in last Winter’s Knitty. It’s beautiful just for its own sake, doesn’t have to be tried on midstream for fit, and is a total process knit with a relatively easy, yet requiring attention, chart. My groove is back! I had really wondered if I would ever want to knit again. ME! Of the 50 sweaters a year insanity! I guess it can happen to anyone, at least temporarily. Anyway, I am glad to read your posts and I hope everything is going great for you with your new intense job (which I also 100% relate to.) I’m sure you’re doing a great job.

Leave a Reply

