Spin me like a hurricane

Fortunately, Hurricane Irene spared the Hartford area any major damage. It rained, and it was windy, but it was not that big a deal overall.

The forced indoor free time gave me time to finish my first handspun since my mom’s birthday in January.

029

The fiber was a Crazy Ball from Spinners’ Hill, which I bought at Rhinebeck last year. That’s the same fiber I used to make Shalom.

082

When I spun the yarn for Shalom, I was a brand new spinner. I thought drafting was so, so hard, and that I made amazing progress between that green yarn and my next couple spinning projects. But you know what? These Crazy Balls are difficult to draft. There were big chunks that were felted almost solid. Last time I thought that was normal, and now I know it’s not. As a result, the finished yarn is fairly uneven.

024

I still like it, and I intend to keep my vow to wear it to Rhinebeck this year. I ended up with about 380 yards of worsted to bulky

027

What should I make?

7 thoughts on “Spin me like a hurricane

  1. Love the yarn! I have no suggestions of what to make with it, but I wanted to chime in and say that I’m glad that Hurricane Irene blew herself mostly out before she got here. My forced indoor time was spent packing for our move instead of knitting or anything fibery. Bummer.

  2. Pingback: Tour de Fleece – Days 1 and 2 | Emilee Knits

Leave a Reply

