Tour de Fleece – Days 1 and 2

I’ve never done the Tour de Fleece before, but as with many spinning-related things, Jacie has inspired me.

You may recall that I bought a preposterous amount (2+ lbs) of raspberry-colored fiber from Spinner’s Hill at Rhinebeck last year.

148

This fiber will become my Rhinebeck sweater. I might as well spin it up now!

Day One was spent planning and organizing. I had some work to do before the giant balls of fiber were ready for spinning.

037

First, I had to get a sense of what, exactly, I am working with.

052

With the help of my assistant, the lovely and talented Fiona, I laid out the roving in five-foot sections.

046

I count 21 of them. I have over 100 feet of roving.

It’s not just the lighting, the fiber to the left is a lighter color than the fiber to the right.  Much the way I did with the fiber that became Shalom, I split the roving into type A and type B, with the goal of plying types A and B together (for a more consistent but marled yarn).  I have had issues drafting Spinner’s Hill Crazy Balls before, so split the roving into fairly small strips before getting started.

064

The types are more similar than they were for Shalom though. With the berry fiber, both types have more or less the same predominant color, but one has lighter areas and the other has darker areas.

070

On Day 2, I started spinning.

072

I’m using Penelope’s lowest ratio, aiming for a final weight between worsted and bulky. The drafting is indeed somewhat difficult, so realistically I’ll get a final product that varies from DK or worsted to bulky or thicker. Drafting issues aside, it’s going well so far!

