Tour de Fleece – Days 3, 4 and 5

On days 3 and 4 of the Tour de Fleece, I spun.

july 2012 004

On day 5, I spun some more. I am getting over a nasty cold, so I had a very quiet Fourth and got a lot of spinning done. While experts advise that you should spin all your singles before you start plying, who has that many bobbins? (Don’t talk to me about winding singles off bobbins and into cakes – I know that for me the singles would get hopelessly kinked. I just don’t view it as a workable option.)

Anyway, once I had four bobbins worth of singles (two dark and two light) I got out my jumbo flyer for the first time and got to plying (on the left, with regular flyer on the right for comparison).

july 2012 002

This bad boy can hold a lot of yarn!

july 2012 006

That’s 150 yards of heavy worsted, to be exact. From the other set of bobbins I got 122 yards.

july 2012 008

I am pleased with how it’s turning out. It’s more even overall than I had predicted.

july 2012 009

So, the quest for a Rhinebeck Sweater pattern continues, now with more detail. I estimate about 1000 yards total, suitable for size 9 needles. Any good ideas?